The purpose of car insurance is to protect you from the financial costs of an accident, should you be hurt or have your car damaged in a crash. Georgia state law requires drivers to carry minimum amounts of car insurance.

If you are hurt in an accident, then it is important to talk to an Alpharetta car crash attorney and to read our free report Typical Insurance Company Tactics before talking to the insurance company. Your recovery may depend on who was at fault for the accident, the extent of your injuries, the type of insurance you purchased, and the aggressiveness of your lawyer.

Georgia Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

While some states require drivers to carry insurance that would cover their costs if they were hurt by an uninsured motorist or suffer a personal injury, Georgia is not one of those states. Instead, Georgia law requires drivers to carry insurance that would cover:
  • $25,000 of bodily injury liability for one person in one accident.
  • $50,000 of bodily injury liability for everyone injured in one accident.
  • $25,000 of property damage liability for one accident.

Of course these are minimum amounts, and as a driver you may agree to purchase more insurance to protect your financial liability should you be involved in significant Georgia accident.

How an Alpharetta Accident Attorney Will Work with Your Insurance Company

Despite what your insurance policy says, many insurance agents will try to minimize their company's payments to you, or other injured parties, when you are in an accident. An experienced Alpharetta car crash lawyer understands the games insurance companies play and what insurance companies are required to do pursuant to Georgia law.

For more information about your rights and potential recovery please contact an Alpharetta car accident lawyer at 1.700.518.1133. We will fight hard for your just recovery!