10/8/2011Most teens eagerly anticipate the day that they can drive a car by themselves. Driving is an important milestone of independence, but it is also a significant responsibility. In an effort to keep Georgia teen drivers safe, the state has enacted a graduated licensing system known as the Georgia Teenage & Adult Driver Responsibility Act (TADRA).
Dover Law Firm
Dover Law Firm
Teenagers aged 15 -18 who want to drive must follow a three step process which includes:
- Obtaining a learner's permit. After passing a written test, a teen may drive as long as there is a passenger in the car who is at least 21-years-old and has a valid driver's license.
- Obtaining an intermediate license. In order to get an intermediate license, a driver must pass a driver's test, be at least 16-years-old and hold a learner's permit for at least 12 months. With an intermediate license, a driver has significant restrictions on traveling with passengers and may not drive between midnight and 6 a.m. Additionally, the driver must complete driver's education and driving time requirements.
- Obtaining a full license. To obtain a full license, an 18-year-old must have held an intermediate license for at least 12 months without any major traffic convictions.
Unfortunately, TADRA will not prevent all Atlanta teenage car accidents. If you, or your child, have been hurt by a teen driver, then it is important to contact an experienced Atlanta auto accident attorney at 1.770.518.1133 for a free consultation. Our Atlanta car accident lawyers welcome your call and invite you to read our FREE book: 4 Common Mistakes That Will Ruin Your Georgia Car or Truck Claim for more information.
Category: Auto/Truck Wreck
Comments are closed.